The Senate President, Bukola Saraki, who drove himself into the National Assembly complex in a rickety private vehicle after attempts to keep him under house arrest today failed. He also perfected his plans to announce his defection from the All Progressives Congress, APC, today and then adjourn the plenary sine dine.

Fourteen senators of the All Progressives Congress (APC) on Tuesday defected from their party to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The senators in a joint letter to the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, made their intention known.

The letter reads:

Dear Senate President,

After due consultation, with our constituents and stakeholders in our constituency, in proper recognition section 16 (1G) of the 1999 constitution, and for the fact of our party, The All Progressives Congress, we hereby inform the Senate that we the undersigned;


  1. Dino Melaye
  2. Barnabas Gemade
  3. Ibrahim Danbaba
  4. Shaaba Lafiaji
  5. Mohammed Shitu
  6. Rafiu Ibrahim
  7. Suleiman Hunkuyi
  8. Isa Misau
  9. Monsurat Sunmonu
  10. Soji Akanbi
  11. Usman Nafada
  12. Musa Kwankwaso
  13. Suleiman Nazif
  14. Lanre Tejuosho

We hereby inform that we are changing our political affiliation from APC TO PDP. We thank you for your exemplary leadership.

In a follow up announcement, Mr Saraki said, Senator Abdulazaz Nyako, has also announced his defection.